Don’t do this at home! … Windows 10 Preview + Server 2012 R2 Essentials Connector

or the perils of not really taking notice of the fine print.

Had some issues with my current build; thought time to blow it away, and why not have a crack at Windows 10. After it was not the first preview, and I wondered how it would go bare-metal instead of testing it in a VHD as I had in earlier releases.

The info at Preview-FAQ said Windows 10 Insider Preview is here today, but it’s a long way from done. We’re going to make it faster, better, … “ etc. and of course the usual warnings “Unexpected PC crashes could damage or even delete your files, so you should back up everything …”. Anyway I was even further was encouraged to try on my main machine after seeing that I could probably expect this preview would allow the ‘real’ Windows 10 to be upgraded into it and installed later, what better way to get a head start on Windows 10 development.

Unexpected – Windows 10 Insider Preview didn’t work with Server 2012 R2 Essentials connector, it almost thought about loading in compatibility mode, pretending it was Windows 8.x, but failed too. Seems this is high on the wish lists but still not in the features currently delivered.

Totally unexpected – found after Windows 10 finished installation on C: drive, a 1TB SSD that it decided to delete the partition on my D: drive.

End result, back to Windows 8.1 and to start the undelete of a 1TB of stuff that was my D: drive .

